Both SAPP MPs not in Dewan Rakyat today

The members of Parliament from the Sabah Progressive Party members of Parliament are not in the Dewan Rakyat today.
The party’s Sepanggar member Datuk Eric Enchin Majimbun, when contacted at 11.35am today, said he would not going to the Dewan Rakyat.

“I have a meeting with Datuk Yong and after that I have to attend a relative’s funeral. I will not be coming today,” he said when contacted by phone.

Eric said he did not know if Datuk Chua Soon Bui (Tawau) would attend the meeting later in the afternoon. Chua could not be reached by phone.

Both MPs’ presence in the House was highly anticipated as they were expected to vote against the government today.

SAPP leader Datuk Yong Teck Lee had vowed to move a motion of no confidence against the government last Wednesday and the party’s supreme Council had endorsed it.

However, talk in parliament this morning centred around both when Chua and Eric were not spotted in the Dewan Rakyat.

During the 90-minute question time, their absence was felt as their seats remained vacant.

Though both could not table any motions today, they could have registered their party’s displeasure by voting against the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister, Datuk Shahrir Samad’s motion on inflation.

Shahrir is currently tabling the motion.

The debate will start shortly.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s